Sheldon ISD

Every Child, Every Day

Achieving Excellence

2016 Assessment & Accountability Presentation

The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) is the testing program fro students in Texas public schools.  Each STAAR assessment measures what students are learning in a specific grade based on the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS). 
STAAR 3-8 Assessments:
  • Grades 3-8:  reading and mathematics
  • Grades 4 and 7:  writing
  • Grades 5 and 8:  science
  • Grade 8:  social studies

STAAR End-of-Course Assessments (required for graduation)

  • English I
  • English II
  • Algebra I (students taking Algebra I in the 8th grade will take the EOC assessment) 
  • Biology
  • US History
Additional Resources (including student tutorials)